23 frames of arrowheads and small tools are on display, most of which were collected in Southeastern Colorado.
The Sand Creek display includes campsite and battle artifacts from 1864.
This headdress from the late 1880’s, was used in W. F. “Buffalo Bill” Cody’s Wild West Show.
This wedding gown is from the House of Worth which was led by famed 19th Century Designer Charles Fredrick Worth. Worth is credited with starting haute couture, high-quality, expensive, made to order fashions that included time-consuming hand-executed techniques. His 1850’s design house was the first to sew labels in fashions, thus identifying the designer. His fashions were worn by European royalty.
Vibrant colors and patriotic messages can be seen throughout the WWI poster collection. Created by early 20th Century illustrators, the framed originals are stunning.
The Lamar Daily News Front Page – October 6, 1927
“National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution
MEMORIAL TO THE PIONEER MOTHERS OF THE COVERED WAGON DAYS”
The Madonna of the Trail statue sits at the corner of Main & Beech Streets next to Lamar’s Welcome Center. Lamar’s Madonna is one of 12 identical statues placed along the National Old Trails Road. The statues honor the pioneer spirit of women in our nation’s expansion west. Harry S. Truman headed a committee of the National Old Trails Road and the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) to determine where Colorado’s Madonna of the Trail Statue should go. Lamar was chosen in commemoration of the “Big Timbers” extending eastward and westward along the Arkansas River and of Bent’s New Fort, Later Fort Wise 1852 – 1866. A place of historical lore, noted for Indian lodges; shelter from storm and heat; food supply for beast; bivouac for expeditions; and the scene of many Indian councils. This 1927 photograph of Mrs. John Trigg Moss of the N. S. D. A. R. and sculptor, August Leimbach working in his St. Louis, Missouri studio on one of the National “Madonna of the Trails” Memorial Monuments. The statue is made of Algonite, a conglomerate of crushed Missouri granite, marble, cement, and screenings of lead ore to give the statue a warm, soft, lifelike color.
Mary Sullivan Cain was chosen by the National Old Trails Road and NSDAR Committee to be the honorary Pioneer Mother. She was honored on the day of the unveiling of Lamar’s statue. Mary was born in Ireland in 1860 and came to the Big Timbers area with her family in 1872. She married Felix Cain in 1885 and homesteaded on Butte Creek near Lamar.
Items on display at Big Timbers Museum that are part of the Mary and Felix Cain story.
Marking the Santa Fe Trail
The Colorado Daughters of the American Revolution (D. A. R) began marking the Santa Fe Trail in 1906 and completed it in 1912. Thirty-six granite stones were placed on Colorado’s Santa Fe Trail. They mark wagon ruts, watering holes and stage stops.
In 2018, this Santa Fe Trail marker was relocated from north of the Arkansas River Bridge on Highway 50, to Big Timbers Museum and rededicated by the Fort Bent Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Bent’s New Fort/Fort Wise played an important role in the development of this area. Learn about it at the Big Timbers Museum and then visit the actual site.
Directions to Bent’s New Fort/Fort Wise Take U.S. 50 to County Road 35, approximately 10 miles west of Lamar or 25 miles east of Las Animas. Turn south on County Road 35 for one mile to County Road JJ (dead end). Turn east and drive ¼ mile, then turn south onto County Road 35.25 for ¼ mile to the Bent’s New Fort parking area. The site features a walking path, interpretive panels, and a